Meet the Inventors

TMT builds upon the significant work done by the key inventors of the SequenceL programming language and auto-parallelizing technology that had been developed at Texas Tech University in partnership with NASA. We invite you to learn more about the significant accomplishments of the inventors below.

Brad Nemanich, PhD

Chief Technology Officer

Dr. Brad Nemanich is the Chief Technology Officer for TMT, where he is responsible for overseeing the SequenceL technology and auto-parallelizing tool set. Jointly with Professors Daniel Cooke and Nelson Rushton, Dr. Nemanich holds a patent on the SequenceL programming language, which is licensed exclusively to TMT, Inc.

Dr. Nemanich holds a PhD in computer science from Texas Tech University and a BS in computer science from the University of Texas at Austin. He developed an interest in compiler technology while working in the Code Warrior tools group at Motorola. In his dissertation research under Professor Cooke, he developed the prototype interpreter and parallel compiler for SequenceL that would become the basis for TMT’s software technology offerings.

Nelson Rushton, PhD

Chief Scientist

Professor Nelson Rushton is the Chief Scientist for TMT, where he is responsible for overseeing the functional specification of SequenceL technology. He is an associate professor at Texas Tech University and has published numerous papers on programming languages. Jointly with Professor Daniel Cooke and Dr. Brad Nemanich, Professor Rushton holds a patent on the SequenceL programming language, which is licensed exclusively to TMT, Inc.

Professor Rushton is also currently PI (Principal Investigator) on a NASA-funded project on the validation of safety-critical system designs, and also on a DARPA-funded project in formal verification. He has developed intelligent prediction and control systems for the Office of Naval Research, the U.S. Forest Service, and NASA.

Professor Rushton holds a PhD in mathematics and a MS in artificial intelligence, both from the University of Georgia, and a BS in applied mathematics from Auburn University. He is also co-inventor, along with Michael Gelfond and Chitta Baral, of the P-log knowledge representation language, which incorporates probabilistic reasoning into Answer Set Prolog.

Daniel E. Cooke, PhD

Chief Scientific Officer Emeritus

Professor Dan Cooke discovered the computational laws that led to SequenceL and implemented several early interpreters for the language. During his tenure at Texas Tech University, he was chairman of the Department of Computer Science from 2001-2005 and was awarded the prestigious Paul Whitfield Horn Professorship, the highest academic honor given to professors who demonstrate extraordinary standards of teaching and research excellence. He was also the director of Texas Techs Center for Advanced Intelligent Systems and served as the Manager of NASA’s Intelligent Systems Program, a national research initiative in computer science aimed at NASA relevant problems.

Professor Cooke published more than 95 technical papers in the areas of computer language design and software engineering. He served as PI (Principal Investigator) or Co-PI on research grants totaling more than $14M, edited many journal special issues, published a book on Computer Language Design, edited a book on Computer Aided Software Engineering (CASE), and served as chair or vice-chair for more than 20 international conferences or workshops. He served as the Software Engineering Area Editor for IEEE Computer, the Formal Methods Area Editor of the International Journal of Software Engineering and Knowledge Engineering, and as an editor of the International Journal of Semantic Computing.

Professor Cooke has been an American Electronics Association Fellow, a MacIntosh-Murchison Faculty Fellow, and held the MacIntosh-Murchison Chair in Engineering at U.T. El Paso. In 1996 he was the recipient of the University of Texas at El Paso’s Distinguished Achievement in Research Award. In 2001, he received the NASA Ames Research Center Information Sciences Award for leadership in establishing a Model Strategic Research Initiative for NASA. In 2002, he received the NASA Exceptional Achievement Medal and the NASA Group Award. In 2006 he was the recipient of the IEEE Computer Society’s Technical Achievement Award for work on SequenceL.